Lovely

Banned
Banned
Aug 25, 2013
USA
Parrots
Lovebirds: Gabby, Dino, and Belle Nips
Quaker Parrots: Mozzi and Sydney
I stumbled upon this website, I would love any and all feed back.
I'm a broke college student so the vet is out of the question, and I want to try to keep both of my lovebirds. I was told to put Neosporin on the wound, but is there anything else I can do for her? She's about 2 years old, and has had the wound for almost a full year. Help would be nice, I know you can't see much. It stretch's to her back under her wing (which makes it difficult for her to fly) she's now favoring that side of her body. She also keeps picking at it. Help please.
I love my little lovebird and I want to try to keep them both. :green1:
30tjcrn.jpg

Can't see anything but some plucked skin.... Is she self-mutilating and that's why she has had an open wound for over a year? Because that's what it sounds to me but I couldn't tell much from your posting, can you elaborate?

So when this wound happened, it was a large gash there. It's healed but I guess the feathers that are trying to grow back are annoying her so she's picking. I just want to know if there's something I can do to help the feathers grow back. Because her cage friend knows to aim her attacks there. But she does favor the side, and when a gust of wind blows the whole left side of her like flutters. Is there something that I can do to help relax her need to itch there.
:green1: