Senegal parrot horrible story

WideO

Aug 26, 2013
I have posted this already on another forum, but I assure you this is not spam. I wish it was. Here goes:

We bought 2 Senegal parrots 14 days ago.

I wanted a parrot since I was 20 - now 31 years ago. We own two labradors, 3 cats, 50 fish, 3 turtles..., so you could say we quite like animals, and know how to care for them. For my 51st birthday, my wife bought me these two beautiful creatures.

parrots_01.jpg

Ollie and Nadi - it didn't take long to build up a bond and become fascinated by these two clowns. They had been in the shop for 3 months, together in a cage, and while I know it is a bit much to buy two birds as a beginner, I didn't have the heart to separate them.

I read 3 books and a lot of posts on this forum. I took great care to follow all the advice to give them a safe & enjoyable home. I studied on the food they need. We made sure the cage was both large enough and parrot-safe. We stopped smoking (yeah, I know) inside the house. We housed them in a large room (8 x 5 x 2.5 meters) where we also have our meals and watch TV.

All of this to say that yesterday evening, they both died within an hour of each other. We tried emergency vets, to no avail. We finally found one and drove there, but Nadi was already dead, and while Ollie was still moving, he was very weak, in a lot of pain, and the vet proposed to euthanize him. Which we allowed.

We were in shock, and I'm still in shock. I feel massively guilty, as this happened under my watch. This is NOT about the money; this is about 2 seemingly healthy animals who now no longer have a future.