So in Love but Worried...

Angela19

Aug 9, 2011
New York
Parrots
Alexandrine "Mango"
Hello Everyone,

My name is Angela im new here and have wrote a few posts about getting a new bird. Im a Vet tech and have fostered quite a few birds but never owned one. I started looking for a bird about a month ago and fell in love with an Alexandrine at an all bird pet store we have here on Long Island. I went home and did lots of research and searched and searched for breeders and couldnt find any close. Needless to say I couldnt stop thinking of that sweet and beautiful bird that I saw and I went back for him/her lastnight. There were 3 of them and there was just something about the one I picked that I cant explain. So, I had him out and was talking to the owner of the store when I realized that on one foot he was missing 3 nails. She explained to me that this happens sometimes maybe mommy or siblings chewed them off or could be a birth defect. She said it doesnt affect them and they do just fine and they dont even know they're missing them.
They woman was very nice and wasnt trying to push me to buy him or any other bird, which at this point didnt matter because he was coming home with me anyway lol. Since we've been home he's climbing all over cage and perches and this morning was stretching only standing on the foot with missing nails and seems to be fine. Im just worried if this is going to effect him being able to play and or hold a piece of fruit and eat it. Also, they had him on a pellet only diet which im glad thats what he likes since it's better for them. I bought the food they feed him and was wondering if it is a good one or not it is called Mazuri. Thank you for your time reading this long post.

Angela & Mango

Congrats on your new baby! We look forward to seeing pictures! :) Can't say I've ever heard of Mazuri myself... maybe somebody else here has.