New to forum and a new orange wing owner

ftlaudmom

Oct 3, 2011
Ft Lauderdale Florida
Parrots
Ziggy a yna Rip
Rico an orange winged amazon RIP
Coco a yna
Hello everyone - I've been reading the forums here for some time while I searched for the "perfect" bird to adopt. I had a yellow-nape for 23 years and lost him to a wild animal mishap in July. His name was Ziggy and after I lost him I swore I couldn't replace him by getting another bird. Fast forward a few weeks and I missed the singing, whistling and general antics of my little guy. So I decided to look around to see if there was another amazon that would be ok for me to adopt. I'm not a bird expert at all and only really knew my bird. I found an adorable 4 year old orange wing named Rico on Craigslist and the fact that his owners thought I was just the right person despite having him listed for weeks, made me feel like we were meant for each other.

When I met Rico he was extremely friendly and loves to be on my shoulder and get scratches. I was in love. So he's home now and though he was used to flying around his previous owners screened in porch, my porch is open so he will need to be clipped. He's used to being clipped I heard so I think it will be ok. I haven't taken him out of his cage yet as he's still getting used to his new surroundings and lunged at me when I attempted to get him to come to my hand so I left him alone. He seems to be adjusting ok, he's talking and whistling in the evenings and hanging out by the door when I come over so that he can be let out.