Moving forward with Gus

Christinenc2000

Oct 8, 2014
North Carolina
Parrots
Big Bird _ Blue & Gold Macaw
Ok so I found out his name is " Big Bird" That will explain why he always saying it. So guess I need to do something about that LOL

Also be kind :21: I am new at all this and probly a lot slower at moving forward than a lot of you

Big Bird is doing great. Eating like a little pig. Will not eat chop . Serious he just pushes it out of his bowl. If I cut up veggies or fruit into big enough sections he can hold in his talon he goes to town on anything .

I have had him 2 and 1/2 weeks now. We had out of state company one of the weekends. Big Bird ( FYI I still slip and call him Gus LOL ) did great he will let anyone approach the cage and feed him. I've not seen him snap like he wanted to bite. Just takes what they offer.

Bath time is getting better. I read somewhere on the forum here to put HOT water in the spray bottle and when it comes down in a mist it will be warm. Worked like a charm. He will sit on the side of the cage and just make a clicking sound while I spray him . First bath he had major attitude and would not talk or look at me for a couple hours

He is doing great at Touch training. He will do ANYTHING for a peanut. He will follow the little stick around and touch and run back for a treat. He is talking up a storm. So many words. Strings some together but I can't quite understand them . Wish I could so I could help him .

Ok I plan to open the cage this weekend . Reason I have not up until now is I read like a crazy person all about Macaw. I am sure some of what I have read I should just ignore . I did not want to make any mistake . I know Birdman You told me to take a towel and put in my lap. That is the action I plan to take this Saturday.

Now the part that really really annoyed me. I had been reading a lot of sites.