Let the training Begin

palmer19

Jun 2, 2011
Media
Hull, UK
Parrots
Cairo - 3 month old Senegal
so yesterday i started training she knows step up and step down perfectly does it straight away when asked, as she is fully flighted i thought i would start flight recall training. And after 4 1 hour sessions of that 9/10 times she will come when called.

Been great since i got her as i have only had her one week, not looked back best thing i have ever done.

and here are some better pics of her

palmer19-albums-cairo-picture2109-dsc00383.jpg

palmer19-albums-cairo-picture2108-dsc00382.jpg

palmer19-albums-cairo-picture2107-dsc00381.jpg

She's gorgeous! I'm glad to hear that you to are enjoying each other. It is always a good idea to train recall training if you have a fully flighted bird. I'm working on that with Lulu ;). The only thing that I think you should adjust, is the time on each training session. 1 hour sounds waaay too much to me. Keep it short and fun. 5-12 minutes would go and then do it more frequently :).

She's gorgeous! I'm glad to hear that you to are enjoying each other. It is always a good idea to train recall training if you have a fully flighted bird. I'm working on that with Lulu ;). The only thing that I think you should adjust, is the time on each training session. 1 hour sounds waaay too much to me. Keep it short and fun. 5-12 minutes would go and then do it more frequently :).

sorry dumb moment dont know why i put one hour it is like 15 mins at a time, then she gets play and destroy everything time after that,

Your bird is lovely
Give the bird time to settle in, and adjust to everything that is strange and new around him.
1 hour, at that young age is far too much. Take baby steps, perhaps rather begin by just playing and adding in the training at a very slow pace.

sorry dumb moment dont know why i put one hour it is like 15 mins at a time, then she gets play and destroy everything time after that,