Help! I'm new at this...

gig

Mar 13, 2012
southeastern PA
Parrots
Red Bellied Parrot, Bowie; Goffin's Cockatoo, Zazu;
5 beautiful finches
Hi! I have had 3 Lady Gouldian Finches ("the boys") and 2 Owl Finches ("the girls") for a little over a year now and I am getting my first parrot in a few days. After researching via the internet and considering my husbands requests (not too loud, not too messy), I chose a Red Bellied Parrot. The one I am getting is only 4 months old and was hand raised. Apparently the aviary he hails from brings their young birds to a retail "bird store" 2x/week for people to look at, hug, hold and hopefully buy. This guy wanted no part of this action and since he did not show well, I am getting him at a greatly reduced rate. They are shipping him to me via Delta Pet as soon as I let them know that his cage is ready. I have more than a few questions, if you "pros" don't mind...I want to trim his flight feathers. Should this be done as soon as he arrives when I take him out of the shipping crate - this way all the stressful stuff would be out of the way and he can just chill in his new home for a while? Or should I wait?
How long should I give him to just "chill out" before I start working with basics like step up? If he seems scared, should I attempt to give him some treats to bring him out of his shell - or would putting my hand in the cage just scare him more? How do I get him out of his cage to work with him before he knows to step up? I hate to go after him with a towel and freak him out early on:eek:! Any suggestions will be gratefully appreciated! Thank you!:rainbow1:

I'm sorry i dont know much about bringing a new bird home as i am still waiting to experience it. There are plenty of experts here though :)

I was just wondering where you were getting your bird? The breeder i am going through has a reduced red belly so i was wondering if it was the same person.
suncoast aviculture?