Jun 6, 2011
Media
Albums
Uk, Hampshire / Gosport
Parrots
Indian Ringneck: Damien

RIP: Dempsey & Winston
Hi everyone!

Great forum, your threads are so very helpful to me and my boy Damien! He is my first parrot. It was silly of me but I kind of bought him on a whim; but it was whim I do not regret. I have learned so much since owning him, and I feel although a rocky start we're going to make some progress!

He's rather grumpy, and a tad evil.. hence the name. I was a complete noob with him, and with some worries it brought me here. But reading through all the forums has really helped. I just wanted to say thank you!

He doesn't like my rat, which is understandable, but it's funny because all my rat wants to do is be his friend, and see him; my rat Oskar is so relaxed, even when Damien screams at him he isn't phased. My new baby is going to have to learn that my old baby is here to stay hehe!

I am going to begin clicker training him soon I have discovered his love for satsumas (baby oranges) so I am reserving them for treats only now :) .
He is only about 6-7 months old, and is a biter. He screams to get his own way, but I endure it to show him he cant have his own way by screaming, he sorta gets it! I wish to tame him. I can't wait to teach him step up, and for him to trust me!

hello where abouts in uk?? lol

was he hand reared??

keep the rat away from him for now, your not goin to train him, build trust with him, do anything while he feels un comfortable/stressed

when does he scream? the most an what is he screaming for??

try pomegranet an as well but try not to feed skin or seed of any fruit to be safe/unless you have looked it up as some fruit have cynide etc in the seeds etc

chocolate/alcohol/caffine/advocado are a huge NO-NO

Welcome to the forum. I'm afraid I'm w/Damien on the rat. lol Maybe when everyone is settled, they may bond. My sisters 'tiel bonded to a rabbit, they were insepartable for years. Enjoy your new boy.

was he hand reared??