Expanding my flock with an AG

tjwolf1

Mar 1, 2010
Parrots
Miligold macaw, cockatiel... Also co-exist with an African grey (husband's bird)
Within the next two months I plan to add another feathered baby to my flock. I will be purchasing a newly weaned AG. I looked into rescues, but there are none in my area with any greys available. I watched one for a friend for a couple of years (he wasn't friendly) and fell in love with them. My miligold macaw, Matty, and him carried on quite the dialog and she was lonely for a while after he went back.

So, since the new one will still be a baby, what do I need to know about special care? I got Matty when she was a year old and my cockatiel, Cookie, when she was about 6 months, so I have some experience, but none with one quite as young. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

To those of you with Grey experience... I have the potential to get a Timneh or a Congo. Does anybody have both? Any difference? There is a difference in price, but both seem to be great breeders.

Thanks