Can conure get along with different bird breed ?

LaurieLJT

Aug 13, 2023
I’m wondering if my fancy conure Bandit will get along with my parakeets. I have two parakeets before I had my bandit . And 3rd parakeet just came two months. I’m afraid of his bite which it is much stronger than parakeet. Does anybody have conure and parakeet bonding experience ? Thanks for your time

I have no direct experience, but I'll comment on what I've heard... fortunately (unfortunately?) the Rb is so aggressive and territorial that I've never even dared to think of another bird...
Buttt... many here have found that they have to separate birds (same-type and/or different) permanently... some have been fortunate and multiple birds get along.
You just never know! Same-type MIGHT be a little more compatible... obviously, at the extreme, I'd worry about a budgie and a macaw.
Good for you for being so responsible and serious, and for reaching out!
I think that as long as you're willing to deal with whatever happens (e.g., separating them, if needed, handling added expenses, etc.), you'll be a great parront.
Just my two cents!
Good luck, and keep us posted, please.

I have a Jenday & Sun. Ones a male & ones a female. They are out together when supervised. I am going to be building them a larger aviary in the next month to cage them together. They are very protective of each other. I’m not the odd one out, and they aren’t as friendly to me as they once were. I’m happy they bonded regardless.

I myself would never stick a smaller parrot with my conures. Both of my conures when I first introduced them bickered. It looked more brutal than it probably was. I used to volunteer at a parrot shelter & conures were well known to be “fighters”. Especially the suns. One took a toe off one of the cockatiels. My conures have a nasty strong bite for how small they are.