Bathing

annette

Oct 13, 2010
North Yorkshire
Parrots
Senengal called Sid
hi I'm new to Parrots and have just had Sid under a week, have been trying to find some info on senegals and bathing, on one site it said to just mist them from a bottle and on another site it said to but a shallow dish in their gage.

What are everbodys experiences with their Senegals and bathing, and how often should they be allowed to bathe. :green:

I think it's pretty much a similar thread for all birds.

Most like a daily bath!

Some like the spray like Cal prefers. She likes a dish of water but has more fun with the spray lol. Some like bathing in the actual sink with the tap on.....

Try and see!

Moisture is important for their feather conditioning though so if all else failed, they WOULD use their water bottle/bowl lol.

I'd try the misting first to see if he likes it or not, if not then you can offer him a shallow bowl to bath in, whatever works I suppose, but bathing should be encouraged either way for healthy plumage :)

dusty has never liked Misting he does however, like a bath. I set up a shallow pie dish in the sink and fill it with water. He loves it when i leave the water running. He is always excited to bathe.

I agree with bobby.It should be emcouraged not forced. If your bird doesn't like water on him then don't bath him.

When I just got my girl I also started a thread asking about bathing because my girl did not want to go close to water. I did however give her a bowl with shallow water everyday and after about 2 weeks she took a good bath out of her own. I think that they first need to find the confidence to get wet because it makes them so vulnerable. She now waits almost every morning for me to give her her bowl with luke warm water and then she dives in. :D

She hates the spray bottle and runs away like crazy.