A friend in need

Joshuwaaa

Nov 11, 2012
England
Hi :green:,

I haven't actually posted on the macaw section of the site yet but was wondering if someone could be of any help. I've found most my help on this forum and would love to continue that in the macaw community.

I recently got a call from my friend who has a greenwing macaw asking, completely out the blue for me to have him. I have my own eclectus and conure and have always loved birds and made the best attempts to care for them which is why he made the call, however I'm no pro to bird behaviour and training. Only recently have me and my eclectus started training, and although we are doing well, a macaw would be a bit deep for me at the moment wouldn't it.

I told him I'd pop over and see the bird and see what the matter was and if we could maybe help, so me and jack drove over (with no intention of bringing this bird home) to try and help.

We got there and Darren (my friend) has just had a baby and last time we went the bird was in the front room, now hes been relegated to the kitchen in a small corner out the way. They also have three dogs they primarily care for and this bird has had three homes. I did tell him that these birds although beautiful require a lot of attention and care, with hindsight a unforgiving thing, he now doesn't think he can care for the bird.

We got the bird out and he is beautiful, 6 years old I believe, lovely and healthy but terribly untame. He was tame, but after being with them for 6 months and no real attention, he has regressed. Darren an his family are frightened of the bird, as was I slightly, and intimidated after they saw him apparently break apart a broom handle.