A Big Commitment: Choosing the right bird

Gorzugi13

Aug 14, 2009
Pennsylvania
Hello everybody!

I have recently decided that I want to bring a new companion into my life. I am just having trouble committing to the right breed. I do have experience with cockatiels and conures, though Im considering something a little bigger.

About me: I am an undergraduate student that will be matriculating into a DVM program next year. I currently work as a veterinary technician, and the majority of my experience is in the small animal industry. I am interested in raising and training a bird to get some personal experience with parrots. I may want to branch out and work with birds as well.

Pricewise: I can do anything up to the cost of an African Grey, that's not much of a concern for me. I'm willing to pay for the right breed.

Noise: It's important that it isn't a breed prone to screaming. I'm totally fine with some noise, it's a bird after all. I do live in a single family home, but have a roommate. He likes animals, but certainly isn't into the idea of an extremely loud bird. The blue crown conure we had when I was young screamed incessantly, that was too much. The Green Cheek was very chatty, but not bad.

Personality: I like birds with some personality. I also want to teach the little guy some tricks if possible. It would be nice if he/she was ok with more than one person. I'm willing to make an effort getting the little guy well-adjusted.

Attention: The only issue is that i will be away for hours at a time, at school. The parrot will get daily attention, but not for the entire day. I am willing to invest in many toys, foraging devices, etc and rotate them.

The breeds that I'm looking at now:
Mini Macaws
African Greys
Caiques
Pionus
Eclectus

Let me know what you guys think!

Last edited: