Nesting

Meems83

Apr 13, 2024
Parrots
Conures
Hello everyone!
So my son went off to college and left me with 4 Conures. Over the past month (only through researching) I've noticed them having nesting behavior. They have a nesting box, which for a little over a week, all 4 have spent the majority of their time inside. 2 days ago I found an egg inside that was broke in half.
My son, not knowing a ton about breeding has given me very little info to go off of. I ordered supplements and better food. I have been adding vitamins to the water. The nesting box they have I feel is small for all of them to be in so I ordered a larger one that I'll be getting today. As of now, there are no more eggs so I'm guessing it's ok to move the nest into the new box? Is ok to handle the conures during this time or do they need privacy? Are they all ok sharing a box or will that cause conflict? I'm lost on this.
I have no experience with breeding birds and the info I find online is so contradicting.
I'm also not looking to breed birds. I just want to help get them thru this and learn how to help prevent it in the future.
Any advice with be much appreciated.

LaManuka

Staff member
Super Moderator
Aug 29, 2018
Media
Albums
Queensland, Australia
Parrots
Fang ({ab}normal grey cockatiel), Valentino (budgie), Jem (cinnamon cockatiel), Lovejoy(varied lorikeet), Peach (princess parrot)
Hello everyone!
So my son went off to college and left me with 4 Conures. Over the past month (only through researching) I've noticed them having nesting behavior. They have a nesting box, which for a little over a week, all 4 have spent the majority of their time inside. 2 days ago I found an egg inside that was broke in half.