Training new 12 year old blue and gold macaw

Adreamsmum

Jul 19, 2024
Parrots
Blue and gold macaw
Hey guys I'm sorry I'm really new to this. Well A'Dream has started to try bite me through the bars so. This morning I used my target stick and used an orange(piece of Clementine he loves them) and rewarded with that for letting me rest my hand on the cage to start i think he is still peed off becaise i put him in.. its awkward and i got him in a hurry so its trial an error. Any one got any clue what will work I only want for him to go in his cage when he's wanting too. Bit now how do I dig myself out of the bad books.

That is a problem. A lot of parrot care books are outdated in a lot of areas, behavior modification in parrots is a big one. I would only put some faith in ones written within the last 10-15 years, and then not every book - there is no parrot book police out there making sure every author is qualified and smart.

I don't know much about macaws but we do have a good resource on here. GO to our Macaw sub forum and read all posts by birdman666 the man is a macaw whisperer.

That is a problem. A lot of parrot care books are outdated in a lot of areas, behavior modification in parrots is a big one. I would only put some faith in ones written within the last 10-15 years, and then not every book - there is no parrot book police out there making sure every author is qualified and smart.

I don't know much about macaws but we do have a good resource on here. GO to our Macaw sub forum and read all posts by birdman666 the man is a macaw whisperer.