Not yet adopted

morganjay

Mar 1, 2017
I am looking into adopting a rescue Sun Conure and while I have a lot of experience with Cockatiels and Monk Parakeets, I have not yet owned this breed.

I really am looking for honest experienced thoughts on what its like to have a Conure from Veterans and what to expect without any sugar coating like a lot of articles will have online.
Ive done a lot of reading, but still would like some first hand knowledge if anyone here could spare some?

We have other animals, but no other birds. My last died 3 years ago and it was so sudden and heartbreaking that ive not been ready to adopt again until now.
Im really a one bird woman. Are Conures content to just have one human if they get enough attention in your experience ?
I know they are notorious for being loud, and I dont mind loud vocalizing but is it really an all day shreiking thing or is it more just occasional bursts or different with every bird? are they super messy eaters? How well do they train as adults? The one Im looking to adopt is 9.
Really id love any insight in the breed and details you can think of.

thanks ! <3

I have a GCC and he is perfectly fine with being the only bird! And from what i've read from others on here who also have only one conure, I think that yours would have no problems with it just being the two of you.
Conures are very playful and silly, and extremely curious. They are also super sassy little things. Its been said that conures are just little macaws personality wise.
My conure is generally a pretty quiet bird. He only really shrieks in the mornings (which sucks) and whenever he hears my toilet flush. lol. He also has his random outbursts but i'm sure that's every conure. However i've read that sun conures are more vocal and just generally louder than GCC's, so maybe my descriptions won't apply to you much.
It also just depends on the bird!