new owner

timmytim

Dec 12, 2012
Media
So, here's the deal. I am now the owner of a new sun conure. He came to me from a home where he didnt get much attention or time out his cage. I bought him with the hopes of him loving me n cuddling w me. Well, i dont think he even likes me at all. I dont know how much or how long a bird can hold a grudge. I think he either remembers that I reached in his cage to transfer him to a travel cage when taking him home. He chewed my fingers till I bleed. Gave him time to adjust then took him to the vet and he chewed all over my hands. He rings the crap out of his bells when I come around. Nervous or playing? So many questions... I am new to conures, had love birds before. The vet said his tags say he's 5 yrs old. What do I do to make him love me? Worst part of it all is he loves my son. Steps up for him, hangs out w him n kisses him :( I just want him to love me instead of my son :(:rainbow1:

He could be hormonal! And you can't make them love you, unfortunately. Give him time, feed him through the cage bars little treats, I used cheerios and rice krispies for my conure because she was the same way when I adopted her. He just needs to be socialized and it can take time for him to get over those bad memories.

Worst part of it all is he loves my son. Steps up for him, hangs out w him n kisses him :( I just want him to love me instead of my son :(

I must admit that I think it's the best part (that he loves your son)... At least he's capable of bonding with people..

How old is your son? Please don't begrudge the bond they have... They might both need it.... and it sounds to me you need something like that as well...:(

You can't force a bird to love you, so maybe you could let this one be your son's, and get another one for yourself... One that chooses you...

It could be that the bird associates you with his previous owner. I don't think it would hold a grudge for more than a few days...