New Macaw Owner

skymanfromiowa

Dec 19, 2017
Decided this past summer that I wanted to get life long companion. I have extensive background with working dogs. COE breeder for Rottweilers. Done several shows and achieved several working titles as well. The sad thing with dogs is I get my heart broke with the rather short life dogs live. I had a friend that had to Greys and would house sit/bird sit for him when he went to his condo in Mexico. This was several times a year usually a week to 10 days at a time. My friend passed away from accident and his finance was trying to sell his house and asked me if I wanted his Greys. At the time I had a job that I did a lot of traveling and was not in the position to take this responsibility on. After a job change (no more travel) I am in a much different position for owning a bird. Several years ago I was dating this girl who always wanted a Yorkie and being a COE breeder I did not want to go out and buy a Yorkie from a backyard breeder I inquired with a Yorkie rescue. Within a few months we had adopted/rescued two that came from very bad situations. Today these two Yorkies are two of the best dogs I have ever owned. I no longer breed Rotties and rehomed my last Rotties to Vets returning home from deployment. All this being said when I made the decision to get a bird I was going to get one from a rescue. I made contact with Iowa Parrot Rescue. Originally I had my heart set on getting a grey. The grey they had at the time was not to friendly to men and made several visits but she just wasn't bonding with me. During these visits I would break away from the grey (so i wouldn't stress her out) and would go visit with other birds in the rescue. It didn't take long before a couple Macaws would speak to me. I inquired with the rescue if this was normal for anyone that would come in and was told that normally those two Macaws don't interact like they did with me but on a few occasions they have. It was at this point that maybe I shoul