new bird biting

cheflavor

Aug 24, 2012
southern california
Parrots
Yellow collared macaw
Hello all, i am very new to the bird world as i have only had andrew, my 3 and a half month old yellow collared macaw for about 5 days. For the first day Andrew was doing great very sweet and nice... the next day he started begging.. for a weaning solution i called the bird shop and they said that it would stop it happened for anotehr day and i did a bit of research and learned that begging should not be happening. i went back to the bird shop owners and they have provided me with weaning solution i give him two 12 cc of solution a day... recently i have noticed andrew biting and chewing on everything which isnt bad he also makes a clicking sound when he has nothing in his beak. unfortunately andrew has found my fingers particularly pleasing and will go to all lengths to bite on them... i do not know if he is doing it to get a reaction or what. i just want him to stop any ideas? i also have noticed a little whistling coming from his nose as well as a tiny bit of sneezing...
update.... Andrew just bit my nose and made me bleed.
any help please.

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum...

Your parrot is very young, and might has regressed, which happens often with just weaned birds...

A lot of young birds will 'bite' fingers, but using a feeding motion... It's natural, and with some birds can take a while... This stage is good to teach bite inhibition...

How often do you spoon feed him, and how much... What else does he have to eat?

Sorry about your nose... Don't put your nose into a baby birds beak... Looks like MUM... :D