I assumed that ekkies would never be snuggly!

nicki

Mar 26, 2013
Media
Dallas TX
Parrots
6 mo old Eclectus :)
imgur: the simple image sharer

I know, he will grow up, as hes only 4.5 months old, but I have been enjoying snuggle time since I met him <3

ko0KQxs

awwww how cute. i love ekkies, every one i have known has been cuddly and affectionate. so hopefully as he grows your bond will grow even stronger and he will stay your cuddly little (or not so little) birdue

What a cutie!! Ekkies are VERY affectionate. I love it!! They may not be too fond of being pet or getting head scritches, but they do love to curl up on your chest and fall asleep. I know mine rests her little beak on my cheek and falls asleep when I'm studying. I seriously melt from the cuteness overload. hehe. It's like the little butterfly feeling you get in your stomach, and your smile reaches from ear to ear. Nothing beats a nice little snuggle. <3

Eclectus are not known for being cuddly. So if you have one that is, consider yourslef very lucky. They also don't appreciate a lot of touching either. Now, I guess if you got a baby and practiced with him or her from an early age to accept this then maybe they would grow to be more accepting of head scratches or petting. When I got Mac, he was 2 years. The people that I got him from weren't very affectionate with him nor did they touch him very much. So it's been a bit of a challenge, but he will now allow me to pet him, scratch his head and neck, lift up his wings and such.

Everything I read about Blue Fronted Amazons stated that they were not cuddly birds. I beg to differ! haha :) Annelise loves to go to sleep on my chest with her head tucked underneath my hair....or her beak resting against my cheek. It's ADORABLE!! And when she is in her cuddle mood, I can rub her and give her neck scritches....but at no other time does she like being touched on her body. Finicky little girl ;)

~~~Tonia & Annelise

Cute picture! I love snugly birds