Help!! | Bird (budgie?) in retirement home

alexthetics

Aug 5, 2016
Hi,

In my grandparents' retirement home there are many fish and birds and one of these bird cages I'm a bit concerned about. The budgie (I think it's a budgie; small blue and white and some black bird; I typed in blue and white bird and the images that show up look a lot like it) kept in the cage (about 1,5 metres tall) has two sticks he can walk on, a ladder, a mirror, and two small coloured plastic jiggly toys and one wooden one, water and food, which is a very very plain bird seed with literally no variety. Just the same yellow orange-ish seeds. Nothing else. It seemed incredibly bare to me and I was wondering if this is how birds, specifically budgies if it's one, should be kept this way because, like, I have no experience whatsoever with birds but I would at the very least fill it up with toys and give it some more variety in its diet and give it a gosh darn hideaway or nest or something you know and he hasn't got any of that. I feel really sorry for the bird and here for advice on how to give him some more quality of life.

My personal plan was to ask the staff in the retirement home if I could pay for some toys out of my own pocket and decorate his cage a bit more, perhaps with some DIY cardboard hideouts or something or anything else I can just make myself. The items in his cage are only in the top half of the cage and there's nothing in the lower half at all and it looks pretty dead.

I was wondering if someone could help me with the basics of keeping a budgie/bird so I can maybe, just maybe, give him some quality of life instead of just the basics.

Kindly,

Alex.

Alelx, first of all, welcome to the Parrot Forums. And secondly, thank you so very much for caring about this little winged soul. Although I can't help (not familiar with budgies) there are folks here that are EXPERTS and can advise you well.