Hahn's Macaw or Conure?

AJBirds

Apr 9, 2015
Parrots
Pixie - Hahn's Macaw
Hello :)

I'm new to owning parrots but I love birds! I fostered a wild baby owl for a little while - that owl taught me just how loving birds are, and I can't believe I haven't gotten another bird yet!

I do love intelligent birds, and in an ideal world I'd get myself an African grey - but they cost more than a car here in Australia.

For now, I'm thinking of getting a baby Hahn's macaw or a conure. I work from home, for myself, and am ready to slow down work for a month to help the new baby get adjusted. I really want to be a good parront. But, I am worried that a Hahn's macaw might be too much for a newbie, no matter how determined... so a conure could maybe be an alternative. I'd consider a cockatiel, but I have a dust allergy and I don't want to risk allergy aggravations.

What are the kind of things I should be ready for with a Hahn's? The breeder I'm considering lets you visit the babies before they're ready to go home with you, so they can get used to you. (I'm so excited!) I've read about people getting hairline fractures from being bitten, which worries me a bit, but I'd be careful with body language, etc. (And the idea of fear/getting hurt never crossed my mind with my sweet owl - I'm only reading about bites online.)

I can't wait to get my own little parrot and make it part of my family :)

Hi AJ,

I would browse some the Hahn's-specific threads in the Macaw forum here to get some advice on their behaviour, noise level, etc.