free feeding...is this the norm?

mdmarley

Mar 1, 2013
maryland
Parrots
yellow nape amazon - Marley;
catalina macaw - Dallas
Have read recently how some people only put out food at certain times of the day....wow, I never thought about that before. I have always let my amazon free feed all day and all night at her convienence. Am I supposed to treat my Macaw differently? I just fill up his bowl with food and treats and let him eat at his own pace...unless it's a messy food like fruit or something that will rot quickly. Then I let him have it for about an hour or so, then I will remove it..
Am I doing this wrong?

I leave SOME food in the bowl, but not much because my boy likes to throw it out. It's too expensive for pellets to be treated that way.

I'm new to this forum, but I have a few years of avian experience under my belt and some variety of knowledge from others that I've gained that I hope is helpful.

My Amazon was free-fed for 35 years until I got her. Her original owners said she was aggressive towards them all the time, especially around her cage. They also stated she rarely was motivated to come out of her cage, she was a "perch potato."

Everything that I have read and learned from working at a zoo and with other professionals has taught me that free-feeding is not the way to go for a number of reasons.